General Information

Welcome class of 2012

Hello everyone! Welcome to the CUABJ website. I am Tracy Jarrett and I have volunteered to be the CUABJ president for this school year.

I look forward to meeting you all at the CUABJ Meet & Greet this afternoon at 2pm in room 202!

We are still looking for board members who might be interested in positions as the vice president, secretary, treasurer, as well as a couple of webmasters. We are also looking for anyone who wants to play a role in the CUABJ this year!

I’m excited about serving as president and want to take this opportunity to tell you a bit about myself.

I am a Digital Media concentrator from Chicago Illinois. In May 2011, I graduated from Amherst College with BA in English. At Amherst, I served as publisher and opinion writer at The Amherst Student. In my free-time I also freelanced work that can be found in Ebony Magazine, The Chicago Tribune online, The Huffington Post, and Black America Web. Drawn to journalism because of my interests in how different
races represent themselves, and are represented in journalistic writing, I hope that the NABJ at Columbia can be a platform for expressing diverse issues that may be overlooked in the J-School curriculum.

Maru Opabola has volunteered to be the Public Relations and Communications Director. Maru is a journalist and lawyer concentrating in Broadcast. Prior to law school she received her bachelor’s degree in political science with an outside concentration in communications. After graduating from Harvard Law, Maru practiced complex commercial litigation for two years. She has returned to the field of journalism with a passion for legal and political issues and has written for The Uptowner online. Maru currently resides in downtown New York with her husband and their daughter.

We will be working very hard to make the CUABJ an organization that can bring speakers to campus and provide a platform to talk about issues that may not come up in the classroom.

I hope to see you this afternoon to hear what you would like the CUABJ to stand for and do this year!

2 thoughts on “Welcome class of 2012

  1. Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the challenges.
    It was truly informative. Your site is useful. Thanks for
    sharing!

  2. I almost never drop responses, but i did a few searching and wound up here Welcome class of 2012 |.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it seem like a few of the remarks appear as if they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to
    follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list
    of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

